TE Archive

Home : Articles : 2004 : April : 14 : Lambton Band Grabs First Prize

Lambton Band Grabs First Prize

Lambton Band Grabs First Prize

Who: Daylight Robbery
What: Youthrock 2004

NEWCASTLE has again proved to be a breeding ground for great original music after an up-and- coming band from Lambton High took out first place in the YOUTHROCK 2004 competition.

YouthRock is a statewide rock music competition that was introduced in 1988 with the aim of uncovering young bands.

The event has helped shape the careers of SKULKER, ALEX LLOYD and SILVERCHAIR. Four heats and a grand final were held at BANKSTOWN ENTERTAINMENT CENTRE. Rock five-piece DAYLIGHT ROBBERY took out the top position, with Merewether High band THE SAXBYS coming in close behind in third place.

Previous winners from Newcastle include 2002 winners EXTORTION from Warners Bay and, of course, Silverchair.

Comprising four members with an average age of 15 as well as a 13-year-old drummer, Daylight Robbery fended off 100 other bands in the comeptition.

A total of 44 bands competed in the four final heats.

Formed just six months ago, Daylight Robbery impressed judges with three original tunes, including one which was penned just three weeks before competition.

A few mishaps didn't stand in the way of the band during the grand final perfromance, including a broken amp and broken strings, which forced the band to improvise.

A total of eight bands from the Hunter made it through to the heats.

Daylight Robbery and The Saxbys walked away with a bevy of prizes which will help boost their musical careers including recording time, musical equipment, Internet exposure and much more.

Winners of YouthRock 2004 : 1st place: Daylight Robbery, Lambton High 2nd place: Erobotica, Sydney Secondary College - Blackwattle Bay Campus 3rd place: Saxbys, Merewether High Abdullah El Dannawi Encouragement Award: Synergy, Batemans Bay High Silverchair Songwriting Award: Bright Yellow, Lisarow High lw2 YouthRock Commendation Award: Immune, Callaghan Collge - Jesmond Campus lw1 YouthRock Special Finalist Award: Reflecta, Orange High; Not Write Now, Mt Carmel High; Beginners Guide, Blaxland High; Mispent Youth, Manly High.

Up to Week View

Newcastle Music